Our Reviews

“The best food in Dorset” (“well, the best my pocket will stand, anyway!”) – this small restaurant inspires a necessarily modest volume of commentary, but all of it very positive.

Harden’s UK Restaurant Guide 2009


Probably the smallest restaurant I've ever been to, but it's well worth stopping by.
This is probably the only place in Dorchester itself you can have a top-notch meal, unless you're willing to travel into the countryside a little.
I've been here for lunch as well as dinner. Both were excellent, but be warned - you'll need at least 3 hours to fully appreciate dinner!

TripAdvisor member, June 2008


Sienna is small restaurant that offers great food, the food is safe (not a criticism) it's tried and tested flavour combinations that work, cooked with great skill and attention given to many local sourced ingredients.

If you looking for a restaurant with tables filled with an abundance of glasses having waiters running all round removing cloches with cries of Voila, then Sienna is not this. Refreshingly, however, if you want great food cooked with great skill in a friendly surrounding, comfortable service and great value for money, then we strongly recommend Sienna.

www.thestaffcanteen.com, January 2008


 ‘Clean cut & simply decorated, this charming 16-seater restaurant has become a fixture with the Dorchester cognoscenti. Visit for lunch & you will find the service is attentive & the cooking, from regularly changing sets, fresh, simple & cheap. Dinner is a more elaborate & busier affair – it is also quite a lot pricier, but worth it for dishes such as wild sea bass with prawn & spring onion mash & chive butter sauce, then twice-cooked local belly pork with poached pork tenderloin, parsnip puree & apple foam, & steamed kumquat sponge pudding with marmalade ice-cream & mandarin foam for dessert’

Squaremeal.co.uk, July 2007


“I went to Sienna at the weekend. No, no... before you get carried away by poetic images of Tuscan hills and sun-drenched olive groves I must just point out I'm talking about Sienna in Dorchester.

And I don't mean this in a disappointing way. Far from it. A trip to this Sienna is a huge treat.

What I love about Sienna is its total lack of pretention. It's not at the end of some sweeping gravel drive and you don't feel you have to treat it like some foodie shrine where you spend the evening talking in hushed tones.

From the amuse bouche which arrives smartly with the drinks to tickle your palate to the petite fours with the coffee its a journey for the senses.

The food here is truly delightful.”

Sally Amess, Bournemouth Echo, April 2007


"It is a delight to witness such a hard-working, dedicated team achieve its dream.

"Russell and Eléna Brown have quietly poured their heart and soul into Sienna, a 16-cover restaurant which shows exemplary standards and immaculate consistency along with a relaxed, welcoming and friendly atmosphere.

"Russell has great imagination, using quality seasonal and local ingredients to achieve a superb menu. I would like to congratulate them both for achieving their third rosette, which is absolutely deserved."

Giovanna Grossi, Area Manager, Automobile Association, January 2007


"They have an interesting and diverse wine list that, in reality, puts restaurants three times their size to shame

.
..the risotto was silky & sweet, complimented by the spinach and set off by the perfectly cooked egg from Eweleaze organic farm."

Melissa Thompson, Dorset Echo Weekend Magazine, March 2005


"Bright new shining light on the Dorset restaurant scene. Warm décor and warm husband and wife team, but only 14 seats so book early. Cuisine - seasonally changing and enthusiastic. Absolutely everything is home-made."

Trencherwoman, Telegraph Weekend, Nov 2004


"Many Diary readers are fans of the smart restaurant, with its sun-touched décor, tucked away at the Top O'Town - not to say of the inspired cooking of head chef & owner Russell Brown and Sienna's knowledgeable and friendly staff."

Western Gazette, Nov 2004


Our Reviews

" The wine list is expansive, providing a mouth-watering selection. I loved the Boland Chenin Blanc, Stellenbosch,
South Africa 2003, served at a perfect temperature for the style of wine, ie not overchilled "

Loveday Copeley-Williams
Horizons Magazine


Our Reviews

"In the restaurant they have gone for a hot sienna, hence the name, cream and natural wood colour scheme with
comfortable, contemporary dining chairs and stylish tables. The result is intimate with seating for just 14, contemporary chic and inviting all rolled into one.

The cuisine looks set to be outstanding. For me, Russell cooked king scallops with fennel puree, herb salad and crispy pancetta. Tasty, juice and melting, in short pure scrumminess!! Sienna is not a place to take dinner on the run. You need to allow lots of time to linger and savour every treat to the full "

Jane Soole
Dorset Echo


The restaurant isn't that inspiring to look at from outside, but my goodness, it's inspiring to eat in! Portions aren't large, but I'm here to tell you that this is more than made up for by the sheer volume of taste in everything. You find your palate satiated by flavour alone. "It's a case of less is more at Sienna.

We enjoyed every minute, and left regretting that we hadn't dropped in before this. Sienna is a slick and competent restaurant with some very individual touches food-wise."

Mary Mills
Dorset Magazine


36 High West Street, Dorchester, Dorset, DT1 1UP
Telephone number 01305 250022
Website www.siennarestaurant.co.uk
Email [email protected]